Freecycling takes a kind of patience…

Posted: 2009.10.27 in General
Tags: ,

…that I’m having some difficulty working with.

At about 10:00 p.m. last night, a post went up on the Freecycle Groups that was very, very exciting.  The poster offered up two Macbook G4 Laptop computers, one with a broken screen and one that would not power on.  Now, being the techie guy I am, I noted that I might be able to Frankenstein together one laptop from the two, and possibly bringing me into the “Mac” world…  …somewhere I’ve never been.  I can tell you, the thought intrigued me.

I immediately posted a quick E-Mail to the sender, proclaiming my desire to take the broken hardware off his hands, and waited.  In my previous attempts at communication, I was happily surprised that I received an almost immediate response from a couple of people – one offering two very old computer systems and some miscellaneous parts, and the other offering up a laundry tub.

In this case, however, I am playing the waiting game.  Oh, don’t get me wrong.  It’s only been a day since I sent my messages, and I cannot expect people to be online as much as I am.  It’s just very exciting to put an offer in for something you really, really want, and not be able to get in touch with the person that can make it all happen.

I can only imagine what must be happening to this poor guy’s Inbox, as it’s probably inundated with requests for the hardware.  I’m planning on putting some items up myself, and I’ll be following the etiquette to post a “TAKEN” message, so that people don’t continually send E-Mails after the items are gone.

As it is, I’m trying to be patient.  The excitement and the anticipation is just killing me.

Rick // The DurhamDev

Leave a Reply

