One person’s trash is another person’s treasure.

Posted: 2009.12.08 in Freecycled, General
Tags: ,

“Treasure” is the perfect word to describe what I have received through the generosity and thoughtfulness of the Freecyling network.

Sitting on the floor of my home office is what is to become the centre of my Home Network.  Every piece of it was the receipt of a politely worded E-Mail responding to a freecycler’s post, and I must say ‘thank you’ again to everybody who has donated to this cause.  Encased in a black MDG computer case is an Intel Pentium 4 3.7GHz motherboard, 512MB RAM, and an 80GB SATA hard drive.

I have recently added an additional 512MB of RAM and two 250GB hard drives, and will soon be installing my new ATI 4550 VGA/DVI/HDMI video card to complete my Home Media System.  Once connected to my 42″ plasma TV, I plan to house all of our personal media on this system, and network the other home PC’s to it so that we can all listen to music and watch videos from a centralized source.

All in all, I have spent a GRAND TOTAL OF … $45.00.  Yes, forty-five dollars.  I only needed to purchase a video card to make everything work together, as I had tried for weeks to acquire a PCIe Video Card, since the P4 Motherboard was so forward-thinking, that it had PCIe as opposed to AGP…  So, for the layman, its video card needed to be ‘current technology’ rather than ‘older technology’.

Updates will be coming soon, and I can provide more of a technical overview of everything I’ve done, for those who might want to do the same!

The DurhamDev Sig

Leave a Reply

