The Freecycled Laptop Project has a SUCCESS!

Posted: 2009.12.08 in Freecycled, General
Tags: ,

I’m very, very happy to report that this very morning, I received my first fully functional Laptop!  The scoreboard has it’s first win!

The Score - Part 3

Thanks to my promotion of the Freecycling lifestyle (it really is a lifestyle) I made a mention on some of the gaming forums of which I’m a Member, and was pleasantly surprised to find that the support was overwhelming.  Another Member from Ottawa, hours away from me, posted a message that he had an IBM A31 Laptop that he no longer used, and would be happy to clean it up and ship it out to me.  So, when I arrived at work this morning, I was happy to find out that my newest laptop acquisition was sitting in a box in our Receiving Department!

IBM A31 Laptop

I am happy to report that when I opened the box (labeled “Fragile: Porcelain”, which made me laugh) and brought out the system, connected it and turned it on, it booted without issue.  It came with a preloaded copy of Windows XP Professional, but as I’ve always wanted to learn more about Linux, I have since installed Ubuntu Linux 9.10.  I don’t have a network connection available at the moment, but plan to update the software and installed information when I arrive home tonight!

Technically, it’s a fantastic machine.  It has an Intel Pentium 4 2GHz processor, 768MB of on-board RAM, a 30GB Hard Drive, and a CD-RW/DVD-ROM combo drive.  Overall, I’m extremely happy with the new laptop, and consider this one of my biggest success stories!

Thanks must go out to my friend in Ottawa.  With this generous donation, I finally have a fully functional laptop for my work.

The DurhamDev Sig

Comments
  1. fab says:

    glad to hear things are going well on your end, Rick!

    Jeremy’s laptop is one of the old standbys when thinkpads were still good… the thing is pretty much an indestructible brick! I miss the days when hardware cost more, if only because they put that much more care into making them not break… (see: hifi equipment as well)

    but these are tradeoffs we make in the name of economical gains, I suppose.

    if / when I get around to putting together a media set top box, I’ll be bugging you when I run into problems 😉

Leave a Reply

