It’s alive! ALI-I-I-I-I-I-IVE! (…the Project, that is…)

Posted: 2011.08.28 in DOOMED!, General

I know it’s been a long, long time since I’ve had a meaty update, but life got in the way. There have been a lot of things that I have had to work on, happily, in the last while, but I have missed having the opportunity to work on my arcade. It’s actually my Wife who told me that I wasn’t allowed to work on any more home renovation projects until I’ve made some serious headway on my game. Thank you, Baby.

This weekend, I printed out page upon page of my project plan, and got my tools in order. I had to do some maintenance on my shop tools, to make sure they all cut straight, were sharp, and would not send parts flying off in every direction. (Hey, that happens when you’re building a game based upon one of the scariest game series ever made. You never know what could happen.)

Once everything was ready, and set up … I found I wasn’t really ready after all. Oh sure, last week, I had went to Home Depot and spent $50 on a template cutting kit for my router, but when I went to hook it up, I found that I didn’t have the appropriate mounting plate. Cue another trip to the Depot. (Lucky enough, I live about 10 minutes from HD, eh?) I found another kit – this time for $20, and containing everything the more expensive one did, and more – and bought it. When I hooked it up … well, let’s say planning didn’t account for what the job actually called for. What I wanted was to cut a template for multiple, identical pieces, but the kit I had bought wasn’t made for that… Damn. (It was useful for future cuts, mind you.)

So, after a third trip, I was ready. I measured and cut out the first side of the cabinet, and then got to work with the router, using a ‘flush trim’ bit. Nice thing about this bit is that you can exactly duplicate any pattern with it. As you can see from the pics, I cut out the two sides, and some supporting pieces.

All this was completed yesterday, during a day when it was really hot, and really, really (really!) humid. When I was done, I looked like a giant sand-man, covered in MDF dust. Today, it’s much, much cooler, and without a hint of humidity. I wonder what I can get done today…

Comments
  1. Jeremy says:

    Looks cool man!

Leave a Reply

